CCTE Conference Overview

Featured

LogoWhat is CCTE?
CCTE (Conference of College Teachers of English) is one of the oldest scholarly organizations in Texas with its first meeting in 1933.

It is run by the Executive Council (Officers and Members), volunteers who organize the conference and encourage teaching, scholarship, and service.

2016 Conference Overview
CCTE’s 2016 conference dates are: March 3-5, 2016
The conference will be held at the Menger Hotel in San Antonio, Texas.

Chairs for the 2016 Conference
Rhetoric, Linguistics, Language, Technical Writing, Composition = Melinda McBee
Writing = Marcy Tanter
Literature = Nicholas Webb

CCTE shares the conference with the Texas College English Association. Their CFP is here.

Executive Council Officers 2015-2016

Officers (2015-2016)
President: Moumin Quazi
Tarleton State University
quazi@tarleton.edu

Past President: Moumin Quazi
Past Past President: Gilchrist White
College of the Mainland
gwhite@com.edu

President-Elect: Steve Sherwood
Texas Christian University
s.sherwood@tcu.edu

Executive Secretary/Treasurer: Gwen Whitehead
Lamar State College-Orange
gwen.whitehead@lsco.edu

Editor, CCTE Studies: Moumin Quazi
Tarleton State University
quazi@tarleton.edu

Other
CCTE Web Manager: Suanna Davis
Abilene Christian University
shd11a@acu.edu

Local Arrangements Chair (Conference 2016): Karen Dodwell
University of Texas at San Antonio
karen.dodwell@utsa.edu

TCEA President: Moumin Quazi
Tarleton State University
quazi@tarleton.edu

Rhetoric…
Melinda McBee (Chair, 2016)
Grayson College
mcbee58@verizon.net

Jana Anderson
Lubbock Christian University
jana.anderson@lcu.edu

Mark Busby
Texas State University
mb13@txstate.edu

Writing
Marcy Tanter (Chair, 2016)
Tarleton State University
tanter@tarleton.edu

Laura Bedwell
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
lbedwell@umhb.edu

Pam Saur
Lamar University
pssaur@my.lamar.edu

Literature
Nicholas Webb (Chair, 2016)
McLennan Community College
nwebb@mclennan.edu

Darlene Beaman
Lone Star College
Darlene.S.Beaman@lonestar.edu

Cheryl Clements
Blinn College
cclements@blinn.edu

Dr. Hawley Voted Editor

The officers of the International Boethius Society voted unanimously to appoint Dr. Kenneth C. Hawley (Lubbock Christian University) as co-editor with Noel Harold Kaylor, Jr. (Troy University) of Carmina Philosophiae: Journal of the International Boethius Society. This annual, peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal is devoted to the study of Boethius, his age, and his influence. The 2014 issue of the journal—guest edited by Joey McMullen and Erica Weaver (Harvard University)—will feature selections from Revisiting the Legacy of Boethius in the Middle Ages, a conference co-sponsored by the International Boethius Society and hosted at Harvard in March 2014. Dr. Hawley is working now on the 2015 volume and continues to serve as editor of the society’s online newsletter: http://boethius.blogspot.com.

Please congratulate Dr. Hawley when you see him. This is quite a coup for him and for Lubbock Christian University.

2015 Award Winners

American Literature Award: Elaine Childs, College of the Mainland

British Literature Award: Karen Dodwell, University of Texas at San Antonio

Robert Adger Law Award for Best Shakespeare Paper: Parker Gordon, Abilene Christian University

L. D. Hendricks Award for Best Literature Area Paper by a Grad Student: Jasa Rosseau, Dallas Baptist University

Rhetoric Area Pedagogy Award: Georgeann Ward, University of Houston

William E. Tanner Award for Best Rhetoric Paper by a Grad Student: Gregory C. Jeffers, University of Texas at Arlington

Randall Popken Rhetoric, Composition, Technical Writing, Language Studies Award: Linda Cole Carroll, Texas Wesleyan University

George Nixon Creative Writing Award for Prose: Mary Ann Taylor, Mountain View College

Creative Writing Award for Poetry: Casey Ford, Lamar University

Frances Hernández Teacher-Scholar Award: Susan Blassingame, Lubbock Christian University

TCEA Award: Amy Dennis, Dallas County Community College