CCTE Conference Overview


LogoWhat is CCTE?
CCTE (Conference of College Teachers of English) is one of the oldest scholarly organizations in Texas with its first meeting in 1933.

It is run by the Executive Council (Officers and Members), volunteers who organize the conference and encourage teaching, scholarship, and service.

2016 Conference Overview
CCTE’s 2016 conference dates are: March 3-5, 2016
The conference will be held at the Menger Hotel in San Antonio, Texas.

CCTE shares the conference with the Texas College English Association. Their CFP is here.

2015 Award Winners

American Literature Award: Elaine Childs, College of the Mainland

British Literature Award: Karen Dodwell, University of Texas at San Antonio

Robert Adger Law Award for Best Shakespeare Paper: Parker Gordon, Abilene Christian University

L. D. Hendricks Award for Best Literature Area Paper by a Grad Student: Jasa Rosseau, Dallas Baptist University

Rhetoric Area Pedagogy Award: Georgeann Ward, University of Houston

William E. Tanner Award for Best Rhetoric Paper by a Grad Student: Gregory C. Jeffers, University of Texas at Arlington

Randall Popken Rhetoric, Composition, Technical Writing, Language Studies Award: Linda Cole Carroll, Texas Wesleyan University

George Nixon Creative Writing Award for Prose: Mary Ann Taylor, Mountain View College

Creative Writing Award for Poetry: Casey Ford, Lamar University

Frances Hernández Teacher-Scholar Award: Susan Blassingame, Lubbock Christian University

TCEA Award: Amy Dennis, Dallas County Community College

Rhetoric Sessions (5 of 6)

These are from 5 of our 6 sessions in Rhetoric and Composition (I’m sorry I missed one). I can tell you with confidence the names of those people in these pictures because of the program.
The first from left to right is Peggy Kulesz, Sarah Visser, and Jo Ward.
The second from left to right is Cecilia Bonner, Sami Atassi, and Sarah Snyder.
The 3rd is from left to right Charlotte Lucke and Gregory Jeffers.
The 4th is from left to right Linda Cole Carroll and Pamela S. Saur seated and Joyce Kerr Tarpley standing.
The 5th is from left to right Jacquelyn Hoermann, Heidi Bardenhagen, and Kori Cowart.