CFP for 2013 Conference

The Conference of College Teachers of English (CCTE) welcomes scholarly papers, creative writing, and panels in all areas of literature and language, including linguistics and language studies, as well as the teaching of these areas. Also welcome are papers and panel proposals in teaching writing, ESL, developmental writing, and the virtual classroom.

CCTE accepts only submissions that have not been read or published elsewhere.

• E-mail submissions only: Send to the appropriate session chair (see list below) by October 1.
• Timed presentations only: 7-9 double-spaced pages (15-18 minute reading time)
• No multiple submissions for CCTE: You may, of course, submit one piece for CCTE and another for TCEA (Texas College English Association), which meets jointly with CCTE. TCEA has its own CFP.
• Paper submissions: Full versions of conference papers are preferred but 500-word abstracts are accepted for initial consideration.
• Creative submissions: Works in poetry, fiction, and creative non-fiction must be complete when submitted.
• Panel proposals: These must include a full abstract or paper from each panel member. Each abstract or paper will be accepted or rejected individually.
• Blind judging: All abstracts, papers, creative pieces, and panel proposals MUST be submitted with two cover pages: one cover page with the title, presenter’s name, academic affiliation (or “Independent Scholar”), mailing address, telephone, and email address; and a second cover page with only the title of the presentation. The actual abstract, paper, creative writing, or panel proposal must be titled but bear NO writer identification on any of its pages.
• Prizes and publication in CCTE Studies: If their work is accepted for presentation, presenters must pay CCTE dues and register before the conference. Those who also want their work considered for prizes and publication must meet a February 1 deadline for dues, registration, and submission of full papers with release forms. (Publication release forms are sent out with acceptance letters.)

Chairs for the 2013 CCTE Convention Program:
Literature, Film, Popular Culture: Rebecca Balcarcel,
Rhetoric, Comp, Tech Writing, Language Studies: Suanna Davis,
Creative Writing, Poetry, Fiction, Creative Non-Fiction: Gwen Whitehead,

October 1, 2013 deadline.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s