Frances Hernández Teacher-Scholar Award 2014

Gilchrist White, College of the Mainland, was the 2013-14 CCTE President. As part of this position, she announces the winner of the Frances Hernández Teacher-Scholar Award. The recipient of this award receives a plaque and a check for $1,000. Winners are usually long-time members of CCTE and widely known and respected in their fields.

This year’s winner of CCTE’s Frances Hernández Teacher-Scholar Award is Dr. Chris Willerton, from whom I had the privilege of taking undergraduate classes and for whom I worked as a graduate assistant.


Chris received a standing ovation from his colleagues when this was announced.



Gilchrist was choked up announcing the award. She and Chris have known each other for years. Gilchrist had quotes from Chris’ former students who are now colleagues which she read as she made the announcement.


Chris spoke a few sentences, including the words thought and wrought. I was crying and didn’t take notes. Sorry, Chris!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s