2014 Award Winners

Trophy ClipartTCEA AWARD
TCEA presented its annual award to Steve Sherwood, of Texas Christian University, for his creative prose piece “Texas Doomers: A Trilogy.”

The winners of the CCTE awards will be published in CCTE Studies, edited by Dr. Moumin Quazi of Tarleton State University.

Creative Writing:
The Creative Writing section awarded one prize.
Dr. Jeffrey DeLotto, of Texas Wesleyan University, won the poetry prize for his “Selected Poems.”

Literature, Film, and Popular Culture:
Here are the Awards for Lit/Film/PopCulture:

Robert Adger Law Award for Best Shakespeare Paper: “Where two raging fires meet together”: Constructed Gender Performances of Kate and Petruchio in The Taming of the Shrew by Sarah Eason, Abilene Christian University

American Literature Award: Picture Stories in Zora Neale Hurston’s Their Eyes Were Watching God by Cindy M. McClenagan, Wayland Baptist University

British Literature Award: Thinking with Dogs in Charlotte Brontë’s Shirley by Karen Dodwell, University of Texas at San Antonio

World Literature Award: Caribbean Postcolonial Women’s Writing:Bildungsroman in the Diaspora by Mina Sommerville-Thompson, Tarrant County College Northeast

Pedagogy Award for Lit/Film/PopCulture: “Where are the Horse and the Rider?”: An Approach to Using J. R. R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings to Teach Medieval Literature in the British Literature Survey Classroom by Sherry Rankin, Abilene Christian University

Rhetoric, Composition, Technical Writing, and Language Studies:
The rhetoric section also awarded several prizes.

Randy Popken Memorial Award: Dr. Charles Etheridge, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, “Analogy, Aristotle, Aquinas, and the Rhetoric of Belief in the Middle Ages”

Pedagogy: Olga Pahom, Texas Tech University, “Does Instruction Make a Difference in the Adult Acquisition of English as a Second Language”

W. E. Tanner Award for the best graduate paper in rhetoric: Alexa Hernandez, Tarleton State University, “Man Up: The Obsessive Use of Joke in For Whom the Bell Tolls

chris_willertonFrances Hernández Teacher-Scholar Award: Chris Willerton of Abilene Christian University

Related posts:
Frances Hernández Teacher-Scholar Award 2014
Congratulations and Hugs

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s