2017 Award Winners

Randall Popken Rhetoric Award presented to Arch Mayfield (TCU), for his paper “Nuns vs. Cowboys”

Rhetoric Area Pedagogy Award presented to Troy White and Zachary Beck (ETBU), for their paper “Reaching Out to the Tested Out: Investigating the Preparedness of Students Enrolling with Prior Composition Credit”

British Literature Award presented to Steve Weathers (ACU0, for his paper “Newman as Novelist: The Heart’s Secret Theology in _Callista_”

Literature Area Pedagogy Award presented to Brent Gibson (UMHB), for his paper “Why Read Literature?”

L.D. Hendricks Award, Best Literature Area Paper presented to Salena Parker ( Lamar U.), for her paper ” ‘A Fine Tang of Faintly Scented Urine’: An Analysis of Scorned Acts in Joyce’s _Ulysses_”

2017 TCEA Best Paper Award presented to Jerry Bradley (Lamar U.) for his poetry collection “Approaching the Coast of Arizona”, and to Moumin Quazi (Tarleton State U.), for his paper, “My Texas Inheritance”

2017 CCTE Frances Hernandez Teacher-Scholar Award presented to Moumin Quazi (Tarleton State U.), for his mentoring, teaching, and scholarly achievements.